Beantwoord

Use secondary router as part of the same LAN with the second having the DHCP etc

• 24 March 2021
  • 5 reacties
  • 766 Bekeken

Hello,

I have a T-Mobile internet subscription and with that a ZYXEL VMG8825-T50 modem. I recently bought an additional router (ASUS RT-AX82U) for my home network for multiple reasons amongst which additional range, WIFI 6 and additional functionalities (VPN etc.). I got most things working nicely after some port forwarding however one problem remains. Both of the devices host a DHCP server which basically creates two LANs. Because of this two devices that are each connected to another router can’t find each other on the network (A phone and a chromecast for example). So I would like to merge these two LANs into one such that I can connect to either router via WIFI and be able to find all the other devices in the network. This while having the secondary ASUS router as my primary router (DHCP etc.)

Some additional points: 

• I cannot put my secondary router into AP mode or something similar. It has more advanced DHCP features and other features which I cannot use in AP mode.

• I would like to use the WIFI of both routers since I need the additional range of a second wifi spot. 

• I don’t mind having less features available on the ZYXEL router

In my understanding the DHCP-relais mode in the LAN-configuratie settings of the ZYXEL router are exactly what I need. However once I turn this on I lose internet connections everywhere, so even wired and wireless directly to the ZYXEL router and the only way out is resetting the ZYXEL router to its factory settings.

Could you please help me achieve a united LAN once more.

Kind regards,

Sako 

icon

Beste antwoord door yalerta 25 March 2021, 13:58

Bekijk origineel

5 reacties

Reputatie 7
Badge +5

Set Zyxel to DHCP relais

Set DHCP relais IP adres to 192.168.1.2

Connect Asus LAN port to Zyxel LAN port (don't use WAN poort on Asus)

Set Asus to a FIXED IP adres 192.168.1.2